BREAKING: Nine Ministers Seeking Elective Positions Resign [FULL LIST]



Nine ministers seeking elective positions in the 2023 elections have tendered their resignations.

This was disclosed by the Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, after a valedictory session held for the outgoing members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) at the State House in Abuja with the president.

He said that ten ministers in total are leaving. Nine were physically present while the former Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba, who is the tenth minister, was absent.

During the event, President Muhammadu Buhari thanked them for their services to the name, urging the rest of the cabinet members to remain dedicated to their work.

Their resignation followed President Muhammadu Buhari’s order to ministers and other political appointees seeking elective offices to resign from their posts.

According to the Daily Trust, the ministers who resigned are;

1. Rotimi Amaechi (Transportation),

2. Chris Ngige (Labour and Employment),

3. Godswill Akpabio (Niger Delta Affairs),

4. Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu (Science and Technological Innovation),

5. Timipre Sylva (State, Petroleum Resources),

6. Tayo Alasoadura (State, Niger Delta Affairs),

7. Dame Tallen Paulen (Women Affairs),

8. Uche Ogar (State, Mines and Steel Development),

9. Abubakar Malami (Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice)

10. Emeka Nwajuba (State for Education) who resigned earlier.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here