Three Senators dump APC



Three Senators of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) have resigned from the party.
The lawmakers are Senators Ahmad Babba-Kaita (Katsina North); Lawal Yahaya Gumau (Bauchi South) and Francis Alimikhena (Edo North).

Whilst Babba-Kaita and Alimikhena joined the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Gumau pitched tent with the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).
The notice of their resignation and defection was contained in three separate letters read during plenary by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, on Tuesday.

Babba-Kaita’s letter reads in part: “As Senator representing Katsina North Senatorial District, I write to formally notify you of my resignation from the All Progressives Congress (APC), and registration declaration for the Peoples Democratic Party.

“My resignation from the APC was born out of the marginalisation of critical stakeholders by the State Government and leadership of the party in Katsina State, where small people like me do not have a chance.
“I have since been joyful and graciously accepted into the fold of the Peoples Democratic Party in Katsina State.”
On his part, Senator Alimikhena, noted that his decision to resign from the APC was as a result of “continuing and multifaceted crisis that has bedeviled the APC”, especially in his Senatorial District, “that has created parallel executives that has undermined internal discipline, cohesion and focus.”
The defection by the three lawmakers reduces the total number of APC Senators from 70 to 67 in the Upper Chamber.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here